Symposium Celebrating 100th Birthday and Research Accomplishments of Dr. Evelyn M. Witkin

On April 13th, 2021 the Waksman Institute held a Symposium Celebrating
the 100th Birthday and Research Accomplishments of Dr. Evelyn M. Witkin

Evelyn M. Witkin (Image credit: Nick Romanenko)

Evelyn Witkin was a Rutgers University Professor from 1971-1991, a Waksman Institute Laboratory Director from 1983-1991, and she has been a Rutgers and Waksman emerita scientist from 1992 through the present. She performed high-impact research in bacterial molecular genetics and was a pioneer who opened pathways for women in the biological sciences.  She discovered the transcription repair coupling factor, Mfd, in 1973, and she discovered inducible DNA repair ("SOS repair") in 1975.  She was elected to the National Academy of Sciences in 1977, and she was awarded the Thomas Hunt Morgan Medal for Genetics in 2000, the National Medal of Science in 2002, the Wiley Prize in Biomedical Science in 2015, and the Lasker Prize in Basic Medical Research in 2015. 

The event was recorded. Video recordings of presentations now are available.  To view video recordings, please click the links in the agenda below.

Virtual Symposium Agenda


10:00 - 10:15 am

Event Organizer: Richard H. Ebright (Rutgers, Waksman Institute)

10:15 - 10:20 am

University President: Jonathan Holloway (Rutgers)

10:20 - 10:25 am

University Chancellor: Christopher Molloy (Rutgers)

10:25 - 10:30 am

University Senior Vice President for Research: Kathleen Scotto (Rutgers)

Session 1: DNA Repair

10:30 - 10:45 am

Chair: Houra Merrikh (Vanderbilt)

10:45 - 11:15 am

Stephen Elledge (Harvard)

11:15 - 11:45 am

Graham Walker (MIT)

11:45 - 12:15 pm

Susan Rosenberg (Baylor)

12:15 - 12:30 pm


Session 2: Transcription-Coupled DNA Repair

12:30 - 12:45 pm

Chair: Carol Gross (UCSF)

12:45 - 01:15 pm

Seth Darst (Rockefeller)

01:15 - 01:45 pm

Terence Strick (École Normale Supérieure)

01:45 - 02:15 pm

Nigel Savery (Bristol)

02:15 - 02:45 pm

Houra Merrikh (Vanderbilt)

02:45 - 03:00 pm


Session 3: Bacterial Genetics

03:00 - 03:15 pm

Chair: Joann Sweasy (University of Arizona)

03:15 - 03:45 pm

Carol Gross (UCSF)

03:45 - 04:15 pm

Srujana Samhita Yadavalli (Rutgers, Waksman Institute)

04:15 - 04:45 pm

Evelyn M. Witkin (Guest of Honor)

05:00 pm Closing Remarks by Dr. Kenneth D. Irvine  

Laboratory Dedication


Support provided in part by the Rutgers University Office for Research