Evelyn M. Witkin recipient of the 14th Annual Wiley Prize

Congratulations to Dr. Evelyn M. Witkin, professor emerita, the Waksman Institute of Microbiology, Rutgers University–New Brunswick, who has been named one of the recipients of the Wiley Prize in Biomedical Sciences for her research in DNA repair. Witkin was largely responsible for creating the field of DNA mutagenesis and DNA repair, which has played an important role in the biochemical sciences and in clinical radiation therapy for cancer. She is a member of the National Academy of Sciences, a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. Dr. Witkin has also received the Thomas Hunt Morgan Medal of the Genetics Society of America in 2000 and the National Medal of Science presented to her by President Bush in 2003. The Wiley Prize, presented annually, recognizes contributions that have opened new fields of research or have advanced concepts in a particular biomedical discipline, and carries a $35,000 award. The Wiley Foundation and the Wiley Prize in Biomedical Sciences were established in 2001. Through this award Wiley seeks to recognize and foster ongoing excellence in scientific achievement and discovery.

Read the full story here.